Let Go of It

One reason people resist change is because they focus on what they have to give up instead of what they have to gain.  ~Rick Godwin

Have you ever gotten the message of your dream? Have you ever learned anything from a dream? Other than we wake up from it if we dont’ like it?

My dream last night had to do with change.  I have always embraced change, enjoyed the process of it and welcomed it with open arms.  It’s like opening a window on a windy day and letting the new breeze in.  I dreamt of a situation that has been on my mind for a long time now.  Something that has held me back from what I enjoy, due to the thoughts and actions of others.  I use to not care at all what others thought.  I watched myself in this dream justify, reason and come up with excuses over and over.  It was like I was talking to myself but I was talking to a loved one.  I even said “these are my manuscripts about it.” IF you read them you will understand.” UMMMMM……… NO………….

You have to move on, go on, and go forward.  Turn the page of that manuscript to realize there is so much more to your book of life than just what you have written down so far.  Get off that page you are stuck on! Stop being afraid, stop letting fear keep you on that page, keep you in that excuse.  Close that book and start a new one if you have too. Start to see what you want to do in life. If you have NO idea then start to move away or go in the opposite direction of what you have been doing.   Never, ever re-read or dwell on those past pages, let them go, have comfort that the memories are safely kept on those pages so you don’t have to keep going over them again and again.

Don’t spend you days trying to correct all the mistakes of the past, instead let go, let God or the Universe create something better for your future.  Another way to look at it and remind yourself to move on is you don’t drown by falling in the water, you drown by staying in it.  Have you ever climbed on the monkey bars? Gettting over a painful experience is much like crossing those monkey bars. You are sore, your hands hurt, you breath hard while trying to swing from one bar to the next.  You get calluses on your hands usually too.  You have to let go at some point in order to move forward.  At the end of crossing all of them you feel accomplished even with all the aches and pains.  You can look at those bars and say I did it!

Move on from those old stories that are keeping you in the same place.  Move forward in life and enjoy it.  Nothing lasts forever, we always have options.  And as one of my clients so easily put it “Drinking my big girl coffee, I put on some gangster rap and then I handled the day and situation.”  Go out there and shed the blanket that has been weighing you down, shed those excuses, and get moving toward a life that has so much more to offer.

What if I promised that your life could turn out in a completely different direction? How? Your smart enough to realize one small change can bring a mountain of change if done consistently over and over.  So try it. Pick some small things to do and consistently do them over and over and see what changes occur.  For example, drink more water, that should be an easy one, but for my little blonde brain it is a tough one and these past couple of days I have increased my intake and I feel a ton better today.  Working towards a goal, keep consistently doing the steps and what looked like a mountain is now a mole hill.  Just go for it!!!

And above all else, don’t be ashamed of your story, it will inspire others, even when they want to silence you due to their own insecurities.  Be grateful for what all you have now, who you are right now, and then expand on that.

~Much love to you all

 

One thought on “Let Go of It

  1. How cool! I love how dreams can speak to us and teach us. I’ve had that happen a few times. The most recent time I dreamt that I was placed in a drawer for a magic trick. Except they just left me there. Before they put me in there I asked if it was just for show, and they laughed at me for thinking that. I wasn’t sure what to believe and just let them put me in the drawer because I didn’t want to look like an idiot if it was just for show. So I woke up and thought how this gave me a picture for how I can be passive in life and not speak up for myself cos I’m too worried about what people think. I think it told me that I don’t need to put myself in uncomfortable positions just to please people. And all that from a dream. Love it! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

