Forgiving An Art Misplaced

Have you ever looked around you and thought good gravy how did my life get so crazy? Happens to me and happens to many people I know and talk to. It’s like an ah-ha moment for some but for others it is a way to self criticize and guilt can creep up. What do you mean you ask? How can that happen? Well even though you read blogs, articles or see people on TV each of us has our own struggles, we all have things in our lives that are difficult, and no one out there is perfect. But for todays blog we are going to focus on our surroundings and how we use it to disable ourselves in so many ways.

I have had a very hectic past two weeks, literally living off of 5 hours of sleep if I am lucky (thanks to my Fitbit reminding me of how I did not reach my goal each night). I took on so many projects and didn’t say no to anything or anyone, just kept stacking it on myself. So what does the body do when it wants you to slow down? It creates an illness (easiest way to get you to slow down, or first warning sign). Bam double ear infections for me, two shots later and medicine I am relaxing this morning. I chose to wake up before the sun rose to do some reflecting time for myself. The thoughts that began to come to surface were enlightening because it wasn’t thoughts of I’m so tired, or dang this ear really hurts, it was of if I am a stay at home mom and my house is a mess, I am not organized at all, I need to do catch up work with the business papers, I just need a day of organizing everything around me. I stopped myself and thought why am I self criticizing so much? I am sitting here defeating myself before my day even starts. In a Course of Miracles it states “all dis-ease comes from a state of unforgiveness.” “whenever we are ill, we need to look around to see who it is we need to forgive.” Uh, that would be forgive myself for not being this perfect little princess I have pictured in my mind. Change my perception some to look at what all I have done is a huge accomplishment and pat myself on the back. How can I have a perfectly clean house with a 3 year old, a 9 year old and 16 year old. I have done my best in the past two weeks and I know I didn’t slack at all. Every minute was filled with an activity and now it is time for me to recharge. When we can shift and come from a place of love and accepting ourselves we are creating a space of safety, trust, deserving and respecting ourselves.  Thus will create the organization we feel we do not have on the inside or the outside in life. Saying a mantra such as “I forgive you for not being the way I wanted you to be, I forgive you and set you free.” It is a freeing mantra and yes I use it when someone does something I don’t agree with or like towards them. It releases the anger, dissolves the negative feelings because you are stating it doesn’t have to be perfect or exactly the way you picture it. You are forgiving for yourself not for them. Your main goal is to get into a better feeling about the situation, not beat yourself up over it.  If we change our attitude over the situation the circumstances you wanted in the first place will probably come to light or something better will.

The only thing we are ever dealing with is a thought and that thought can be changed. It is your choice on how you want to change it. Your point of power is always in the present moment. If you don’t have the thought, you won’t have the feeling and all thoughts can be changed.  Change the thought, and the feeling must go. It may be a challenge at first but focus on what you want so what you don’t want doesn’t keep happening.

What are some of the things you say first thing in the morning? Do you notice what’s pre-programmed, how have you wired yourself? Just notice and if it makes you feel good then you are on the correct path.

Leave a Reply

