Baby Steps

I know that I can create miracles in my life ~Louise Hay

Do you remember when you were little? I mean I look at our almost 2-year-old and see her learning new skills, speech concepts have to register in her brain, and she takes it from there.  Walking and running she learned how to do on her own and then I look around at many people and hear the same thing.  Myself has been included in this many times, teens and tweens too I hear “I don’t know how to do it, I don’t know where to start or It just seems to overwhelming.”

Ok, why is it that our 2-year-old can do it without asking these questions of herself or us? She just practices and practices until she masters it.  And it is that simple my friends.  As we grow up we learn to take on many tasks at once. So in a way we do feel overwhelmed, everything around is cluttered and in our minds we don’t focus.  What’s a 2-year-old have for stress? What does she have as a deadline? IF you think about it, her brain in taking in a lot more stimulus than we realize, she is absorbing everything around her, all five senses going at once.  We as adults have forgotten to tune in and not get overwhelmed.

To set yourself up for success and feel good about it you have to enjoy what you are doing.  Or it is just that simple you won’t complete what you want to do.  For example, I really wanted to start working out again.  But with kids, a house, my own school work, the kid’s school stuff, sports with the kids and a baby running around it was hard for me to carve out time to get to the gym and work out.  Married to a strength and conditioning coach you would think I could work out while he watches her for a little bit. 🙂 So I did the next best thing, I bought some stuff for here at the house, when she is asleep (best time to work out) I get what I can in.  It wasn’t something I really enjoyed at first but I felt like I really needed to do it.  So I just started, some days I could get a full 20 minutes in and some I had to break it up into segments all through out the day.  Doing squats before I get in the shower, stretching while blow drying my hair, you know multi-tasking at it’s best to get it all in.  I do feel better and that now in turns makes me want to get some exercise in during the day.

If you break it into smaller pieces, what ever it is in life you want to do it is soooooooo worth it!! Don’t let the fear of the “it’s to hard, or the unknown” stop you from living your life to the fullest.  Work a little each day and you will soon see the benefits of your progress.  I promise if you go for it and work consistently you will have success!! No matter what it is you want. Keep your eye on the prize and go for it!! As much as you can every day!

Much love

 

Leave a Reply

