Do you Procrastinate?

Do you ever put off things today that you mean to get around to tomorrow? Procrastination…..  Killer of all dreams..

So why do we do it? To see how many things we can put on our to-do list for the next day to watch that list grow and grow? Love this definition I found on the internet.

The Misconception: You procrastinate because you are lazy and can’t manage your time well.

The Truth: Procrastination is fueled by weakness in the face of impulse and a failure to think about thinking

You keep promising yourself this will be the year you do all these things. You know your life would improve if you would just buckle down and put forth the effort.  The problem with procrastination it makes you feel even more out of control in life.  It’s like an invisible force that keeps you from doing what you want to do in life.  Like it is holding you back and has some power over you.

You can try to fight it back. You can buy a daily planner and a to-do list application for your phone. You can write yourself notes and fill out schedules. You can become a productivity junkie surrounded by instruments to make life more efficient, but these tools alone will not help, because the problem isn’t you are a bad manager of your time – you are a bad tactician in the war inside your brain.

Procrastination is such a pervasive element of the human experience there are over 600 books for sale promising to snap you out of your bad habits, and this year alone 120 new books on the topic were published. Obviously this is a problem everyone admits to, so why is it so hard to defeat?

To explain, consider the power of marshmallows.

Walter Mischel conducted experiments at Stanford University throughout the late 1960s and early 1970s in which he and his researchers offered a bargain to children.

The kids sat at a table in front of a bell and some treats. They could pick a pretzel, a cookie or a giant marshmallow. They told the little boys and girls they could either eat the treat right away or wait a few minutes. If they waited, they would double their payoff and get two treats. If they couldn’t wait, they had to ring the bell after which the researcher would end the experiment.

Some made no attempt at self-control and just ate right away. Others stared intensely at the object of their desire until they gave in to temptation. Many writhed in agony, twisting their hands and feet while looking away. Some made silly noises.

In the end, a third couldn’t resist.

Some tips to overcome this nasty little habit. Is first just start doing something towards your goal.  Get at least one thing you hate doing that you feel you must do out-of-the-way first thing.  It is a huge accomplishment and you feel empowered when you get the this thing off your to-do list.  Thinking about thinking, this is the key. In the struggle between should versus want, some people have figured out something crucial – want never goes away. Do an action step that will take you forward instead of keeping you going no where.

Procrastination is all about choosing want over should because you don’t have a plan for those times when you can expect to be tempted. Second, expect that when you face an unwanted or undesirable task that you’d rather put off, you’ll have lots of negative emotions. My advice is, “suck it up!” Yes, it’s a hard-nosed approach, but procrastinations need it. Don’t give into feeling good,  such that you focus on short-term mood repair.  Keep your focus on long-term goals, what you want ultimately.

Finally, my third tip is “be honest with yourself.” Too often procrastinations justify or rationalize their procrastination saying things like “I’ll feel more like doing this tomorrow” or “I work better under pressure” or “This can wait.” . . . No you won’t, no you don’t and no it can’t.  Stop the self-deception that comes with procrastination.  Start telling yourself nope this can not and should not wait.  I have time, I can do it now.

 

10 thoughts on “Do you Procrastinate?

  1. I simply wanted to make a quick remark in order to appreciate you for all the marvelous hints you are showing on this website. My extended internet search has at the end been honored with really good insight to go over with my colleagues. I ‘d point out that most of us website visitors are truly lucky to dwell in a fabulous community with many special people with great concepts. I feel somewhat privileged to have seen the webpages and look forward to some more brilliant times reading here. Thanks a lot once more for everything.

  2. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  3. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  4. I’m still learning from you, while I’m improving myself. I definitely love reading all that is posted on your site.Keep the aarticles coming. I enjoyed it!

  5. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  6. I wish to get across my passion for your kind-heartedness giving support to people that should have help on this important topic. Your very own commitment to getting the message throughout appears to be exceptionally good and has really encouraged regular people like me to attain their ambitions. Your new warm and helpful facts implies a great deal a person like me and somewhat more to my colleagues. With thanks; from all of us.

  7. I definitely wanted to write a simple word so as to say thanks to you for the wonderful suggestions you are writing here. My time consuming internet look up has now been honored with brilliant concept to exchange with my family. I ‘d admit that we site visitors actually are quite blessed to be in a very good place with so many marvellous people with beneficial opinions. I feel rather lucky to have used your entire web page and look forward to plenty of more entertaining minutes reading here. Thanks once again for everything.

Leave a Reply

