Feeling Empowered

Here is a little excerpt from my book Whispers From My Heart.  You can find it for sale at http://www.whispersfrommyheart.weebly.com

Do not waste one moment in regret, for to think feelingly of the mistakes of the past is to re-infect yourself ~Neville Goodard

The defination of Empowerment refers to increasing the spiritual, political, social or economic stregnth of an indivduals and communities.  It often involves the empowered person to develop confidence in their own capacities.

As I lay here one morning, I was in a daydream kind of mode, and all this past history began to surface.  I had begun recalling events I had shoved and stored deep down inside of myself.  Some so deep I had forgotten the memory, the emotions and all the people involved.  First fear came over me, then the deep shame and humiliation came up too, all overwhelming at first. So strong it took my breath away, made me close my eyes tight and clench my fists.  My heart racing now, as my fear swelled up inside of me as flashbacks began to roll into my mind like waves on a beach.  I can see them all so clearly as if I am watching a movie on the big screen.  My breath quickens, my body tenses I begin to shake even though I feel paralyzed.  I try to stuff the emotions and memories down again BUT then think to myself WAIT! I am suppose to do this, I was told to heal and have a better life I need to face what fears me the most and beat it once and for all.  To stop stuffing all this down and that is exactly what I did this morning.  I let it all replay out in my mind, I kept reminding myself that I am in the present, the past can no longer affect me.  I am safe and a lot stronger than I use to be.  The first step is always the hardest I kept telling myself, after this it will get easier.

This is the first paragraph in the chapter called Feeling Empowered.  I wrote and published my book to help inspire and empower those that have been abused or raped.  It is also for family’s of victims of abuse, to help them and explain in simple terms how to help themselves and support us.

Please feel free to leave a comment below.

 

 

One thought on “Feeling Empowered

  1. Taking that first step, staying in the present – it can be so very hard, but it really is empowering. To see your capacity for strength that way. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

